The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy The Expendables: Where’s Chuck?

Like any other red-blooded, rock ribbed, slightly overweight and out of shape movie loving American man, I am waiting for the Friday release of “The Expendables.”  I am waiting for the body count of the summer to begin with all of my favorite 80’s and 90’s actions stars! I heard they were in there. I went over to IMBD to take a look at any early information about the movie and sure enough there were Stallone and Lundgren. One can only hope that there is some homage to Rocky IV in the movie.

The new tough guys Li and Statham are in the movie along with extreme fighter Randy Couture and fake fighter Steve Austin. There are cameos by Willis and the Democrat Governor of California Schwarzenegger. All the action heroes are there…except my favorite, Chuck Norris!

My favorite Chuck Norris movie is the 1985 cop drama “Code of Silence.” “Delta Force” and “Missing in Action” have better action and more blowing up stuff but they lack something that “Code” had: me! I got my first chance to be in a major film when they shot “Code of Silence” in Chicago. I was cast as an extra and later got to be an uncredited cop in a scene with Mr. Norris. It was an awesome experience for a young comic. He was friendly and personable and chatted between takes with everybody.

The movie is a “Who’s Who” of Chicago actors some of whom have since hit the big time. Dennis Farina, John Mahoney, Lou Damiani and my occasional drinking buddy from back then, character actor tough guy Ron Dean. The movie also features one of the great all time movie bad guys Henry Silva. The plot is simple, a good cop fights the Mafia, Columbian drug runners and the rest of the Chicago police force. Of course, Chuck wins. I hope that didn’t ruin the movie for anyone!

The thing I have always liked about Mr. Norris both then and now was his complete disregard for what “Hollywood” thought of his work. He wasn’t making movies for them he was making movies for me. Since he has “come out” politically I find he has the same attitude about his political detractors.    

So what’s up with that, Sly? Why no cameo for Chuck? As a right wing nut job my first impulse is to think Chuck’s conservatism and support of Mike Huckabee in the 2008 election might have kept him off the cast list. I don’t have any evidence of that but that never stops Hollywood lefties from saying things!

4 Responses to The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy The Expendables: Where’s Chuck?

  1. Bearman says:

    1985 huh. I’ll have to check if it is playing on AMC. haha

  2. Lindsey G. says:

    Hey you got it so right about Chuck Norris. I’ve done two Walker Texas Rangers with him and always enjoyed chatting it up with him on the set. He is especially gracious with those he’s working with. I’m also especially proud to have had my ass kicked by him on film. I gave him a good run for the money, but of course he prevailed. My older brother also studied Karate with him in the late 60s and also found him a generous and caring guy. But of course he’s too conservative for mainstream Hollywood. Why do genuine philosophical differences make “liberals” squirm? I thought open mindedness was a hallmark of liberality.

  3. blackwatertown says:

    I’m impressed – for two reasons.
    1. I’d always heard about this shadowy vast right wing conspiracy – and now at last I’ve found it. I feel like Nicolas Cage in one of those stealing the US constitution films.
    2. You’ve been in a film with Chuck Norris. The man lives on through the medium of twitter wisdom based on tales of his unique toughness. Many many favourites. This one springs to mind: When Chuck Norris falls in the water, he doesn’t get wet. The water gets Chuck Norrised.
    http://www.blackwatertown.wordpress.com

  4. John says:

    http://www.deadline.com/2010/07/comic-con-4-the-expendables-panel/

    Stallone says he talked to Seagal, Van Damme, and Chuck Norris, among others, but “some extenuating circumstances – like insanity – kept those from happening.”

Leave a Reply

