The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy: “Unfriended” on Facebook for Being Conservative

Have any of you been dumped on Facebook for being racist, homophobic gun toting morons lately? Have some of your tolerant, diversity seeking “Progressive“friends tossed you under the bus for having the temerity to express a conservative opinion based on facts?

I got un-friended on Facebook a few months ago by comedienne Elaine Boosler. Out here in the real world I wasn’t really “friends” with Ms. Boosler. We had met a few times and I think we may have shared a stage or two somewhere along the way but that was it. Our Facebook friendship was almost as brief. When I disagreed with one of her political postings I was soon scratched from her “friend” roster. It seems that Ms. Boosler does not like to have her opinions challenged. She is one of many “Progressives” who believe in diversity of appearance but not of thought. Fair enough! You want to be narrow minded and intellectually lazy so you don’t have to defend your opinions that is your right as an American. Second in my mind only to the right to be as stupid as you want to be is the right to put your fingers in your ear when someone who disagrees with you is so rude as to start throwing facts at you.

A little more hurtful was another “progressive” friend who electronically dumped me last week. For many years when I lived in California I had supported this person artistically because I thought she was talented, and I still do. I helped her find gigs and talked her up to bookers and agents when I could.

 I got a terse message from this now former Facebook friend. The message was, “Go f#*@ yourself!” The reason for this dismissal; I expressed a conservative viewpoint in a comment to something she had posted. She had posted a negative message about Sean Hannity insulting Elena Kegan’s appearance. I posted back that I agreed that personal appearance attacks are lowbrow and said I hoped she was as vocal about her distaste for personal attacks when the left was doing it to Sarah Palin. My ex-friend said that there had never been and appearance based attacks on Ms. Palin, (I know, I know) and could I supply some links to back my position. I did with a link to the Letterman “slutty airline attendant” line. She posted back that that was just one example and when I when I took the discussion off the public board and sent here a personal message with several more links I got the GFY brush off.

This whole episode got me to thinking about the bigger question; what is the cost of being openly conservative in show business? A few years ago another friend who is a television producer told me about going to a meeting at a studio where a major “suit” went on for fifteen minutes during a creative meeting about Rush Limbaugh and how they would never hire anyone who listened to “that moron.”  My friend is a “closet conservative” and since he was in the middle of trying to make a deal at that studio he kept his mouth shut. Another friend has a job as a casting director on a show and is very careful never to express a political opinion even though many lunch discussions are strongly anti-conservative.

I look folks like Dennis Miller, a guy who I have admired for years, and Drew Carey and wonder what their brash conservativism has cost them. There used to be a cost if you were a drug addict or gay in Hollywood. Now those things are career boosters. A few years back when I was still in Hollywood some people would attend recovery group meeting to “network” with those there for help. Being seen at AA or CA was a career move. Does anyone think Ellen DeGeneres’ coming out has hurt her? I may not remember correctly but I seem to remember her sit-com was on life support until she came out on the show and on Oprah. I wouldn’t doubt if there were a few “ersatz” gays in Hollywood these days. Meanwhile if you are conservative or Republican in show business you better have a two bedroom closet because you are going to be there for awhile.

If you want to join my Facebook group for those dumped online for being too right http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=122238941127462&ref=ts follow this link and post your story.

30 Responses to The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy: “Unfriended” on Facebook for Being Conservative

  1. Bearman says:

    I must be posting some things that people aren’t liking lately b/c I have lost several FB fans in the last week.

    At least you got someone to tell you to your face that they don’t like you before shunning you..haha

  2. crommunist says:

    You’re absolutely right! The standards need to fall equally on both sides. Just like it was wildly offensive when “Progressives” likened Bush to Hitler, Conservatives took the high road and… oh wait.

    Or when McCain was wrongfully slandered and lost the nomination because of a tenuous association with someone from his past, Conservatives looked at Obama’s tenuous association with Ayers and… oh wait.

    Or how “Progressives” are always persecuting good people for being Christian. Religion should be a private thing, right? Doesn’t have anything to do with qualifications for high office. So when people found out Obama went to a madrassa for 5 minutes 40 years ago, Conservatives did the right thing and… oh wait.

    Jeez, seems like the hypocrisy isn’t confined to a single group.

    (Also, Rush Limbaugh IS a moron, and it isn’t because he’s conservative. It’s because he’s blatantly and unrepentantly wrong about pretty much everything)

  3. Miguel says:

    Just to be clear. . . on the comments about Palin, Letterman is a comedian, just like leno, stewart, colbert. They live for making fun of people. It is not the same when Hannity, O’Reilly, Beck or even Keith Olberman (to throw in a liberal) criticize and insult on their programs. They are not comedians, they should provide objective (or subjective if it’s an “opinion” program) information in respectful manner. Actually, I think Beck should be moved to Comedy Central as their “Right-wing nut Comedian” as everything he says is basically comedy.

  4. Cokehead says:

    It’s their friends list. If they would rather not listen to your political ramblings, then that is their choice. Isn’t it the liberals that are supposed to be whiny and such?

    Personally, I try to keep my friends list to just people I know personally, or well enough from the innertubes that I don’t mind them knowing my hometown and such. I’ve got a few teabaggers on – even have a heated discussion with them from time to time (although, we tend to operate from a different set of facts – I live in a world where Obama’s not a nazi, for instance), but for the most part, my friends are people that agree with me politically.

    I’m sure you won’t cry too much, you have 1,682 others in your echo chamber, do you not?

  5. […] one of those right-wing kooks, is upset about something terribly traumatic that happened to him. Someone unfriended him on Facebook for being a wingnut! Don't you know that lefty liberals are supposed to always pretend to be friends with the goons and […]

  6. truth machine says:

    God forbid that someone defriends an asshole.

  7. crickets says:

    get over it man, you said yourself that you weren’t really friends to begin with. why should you care?

    facebook is a social networking site, not a political forum. it’s annoying enough to see my news feed click away with annoying and trite hourly updates from my juvenile friends, should I be forced to subject myself to the political ranting of every 2-bit idiot of whatever stripe who happened to end up on my bloated friend list? I think not.

  8. chris says:

    BAAAHHHH…. BAAAAAAaaaahh
    really? Is losing facebook friends really important enough to blog over?

    • Eric S. Harris says:

      Some people here missed the point.

      It’s not the “un-friend-ing” that is significant, but the inability to tolerate opinions different from their own … or deal with statements of fact that support those opinions in a grown-up, rational way. (That’s not the only point, put it’s a pretty important and obvious to the non-oblivious.)

      I suppose we could now add “or get the point when someone is pointing out something unpleasant about some in The Left.”

  9. T. says:

    Maybe they unfriended you because they don’t like you?

  10. Bob says:

    So you got unfriended on Facebook and that bothers you? What are you, some kind of douchebag?

  11. Roxanne says:

    I know how you feel. It reminds me of when I was in high school and I didn’t get invited to the prom. There is nothing like being defriended to make you cry like a high school girl.

    • jeffreyjena says:

      sorry you didn’t get invited to the prom, maybe someday you’ll get over it. Thanks for reading.

      • Roxanne says:

        Gee, I sure hope so. I mean, it’s only been about thirty years. I should really get a life. I hope it won’t take you thirty years to realize that getting defriended on Facebook is not that big of a deal.

  12. Karl says:

    OMG
    Are you going to be ok?

  13. Dale Husband says:

    Look at what P Z Myers wrote about you:

    http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/2010/05/waa_waa_waaaaa.php

    Thanks for giving him yet another thing to bitch about.

  14. river c says:

    Wow…Republicans are a sensitive lot, aren’t they. Demanding someone to be a Internet “friend”?

    No wonder the last 8 years are a lost decade.

    • river c says:

      And yes..8 years are not a decade. There has been a lot of media talk about a potential lost decade, similar to Japan’s, as a result of the economic meltdown. My point is 8 years of Bush are 8 years lost towards improving our infrastructure, preparing for climate change, getting health and education cost under control, etc.

      And all the Right seems to be able to do is complain, blame, and drain (resources).

  15. schumpeter says:

    ‘Friends’ online are not friends – they are correspondents. Friends are in real life, a select few from the people you meet face to face. What a fuss over nothing.

  16. Charles says:

    Unfriended on Facebook. The horror. How will you ever survive?

    Whine whine whine.

  17. Ric says:

    Wow, you are a crybaby. Boo-frickin’ hoo.

  18. sherrimio says:

    I’d like to join that FB de-friended page but I haven’t been dumped by any of my liberal friends yet. I think I have one that might be on the verge of de-friending. I recently “liked” a page supporting Arizona. She followed up by “liking” a page which stated “I’d rather have immigrants living here than racists”. Like most Progressive she is clueless about the difference between legal and illegal immigration.

  19. Beverly says:

    My Republican representative unfriended me for no obvious reason other than I “liked” President Obama’s page. I thought he was supposed to represent everyone, not just the 40-something % that voted for him.

    That neither side seems willing to even listen to the other does not bode well for the future of this country.

  20. Jesus Christ says:

    I’d unfriend you too for believing stupid shit, assface.

  21. Chris D. says:

    Actually, I think that was a pretty low thing for that girl to do if she was a real, personal friend in RL not just Facebook. Not really a friend at all if a difference of political opinion makes her split.
    I try to keep politics off my Facebook feed for this very reason, most of my friend list is populated by people I know and care about. Some of them are really conservative, one or two even spout off occasionally. If you want to HAVE an opinion regarding things, you should be able to withstand having your views tested once in a while. I’m a fairly radical “Progressive” myself but I don’t require people to agree with me to be my friend. I don’t even require them to be good people. I just require them to be my friend, and f*ck politics. My brother is a soldier and a hardcore neo-con politically, but we manage to have a very close relationship.
    All that being said, please consider that the “Facts” you tout are only “Facts” as interpreted by YOU. There’s lot’s of facts. Usually there’s multiple sides to everything. I have some facts of my own that led to my particular views, and I’m just as happy to whip them out in the heat of a debate as you are. Everyone thinks they have history backing up their argument and most of the time they are only half right.
    Sorry you’re getting sh*t on by supposed friends for something as stupid as a political opinion.

  22. marcie says:

    Elaine Boosler? LOL Elaine Boosler? The has-been who had only one decent joke about guys dating her because she was the only one without cats? Another politically naive Jewish person. (I am Jewish, I can say it. My kind are terribly stupid voters, blindly standing with those who loathe the only place on earth they would have instant citizenship, Israel.). Yes, the left is a rather rigid, unforgiving lot. One must never disagree with them, those who scream about free speech and personal freedoms. I have learned that those who talk loudest about protecting your freedoms are the ones who will be the first to take them away. Ms. Boosler’s loss.

Leave a Reply

