The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy: Irena Sendlerowa

I get a lot of spam. No, I didn’t think I was the only one but I get a lot of spam even though I have tons of filters and security. I get chain letters and requests to help smuggle money out of various third world countries. I have hit the lotto in fourteen nations on three continents which has to be beyond all odds. I get a lot of spam from my family members and I have a lot of family. Yesterday I got six e mails from my sister Rae and I thought of just hitting the delete button but I for some reason I opened the one titled “ The Irena Sendler Story”. 

Hero

Hero

Blowhard

Blowhard

I read the story and because I am a born skeptic. I thought, “Yeah right, how is it I have never heard of this person before?” So I did some research and I would like to pass along this story to all of my readers. In times like these I believe it is important to know that people have risked more and endured longer than we can imagine. This is a story of courage and nerve that few of us have. It is also a story of someone who stood up for what was right when most were busy following a charismatic leader who promised to lead a desperate nation out of economic troubles. I wish a few Republicans in Washington would do the same.

Irena Sendler was a young Polish woman who worked in Warsaw before World War II. As a young student she was dismissed from university because she refused to respect the segregation of Jewish students even though she was a Catholic.

When the Nazis took Poland she used her connection with the Welfare Department to move in and out of the Ghetto. She and other members of the Polish resistance group Zegota saved the lives of over 2500 children and many more adults.

In 1943 she was captured by the Gestapo and tortured. She was beaten and had her arms and legs broken.  When the story came to light she said her only regret was that most of those who had helped her were no longer around to share in her acclaim.

If you would like to read the entire story of this remarkable person here is a link to the student project “Life in a Jar” that has helped bring Ms. Sendler’s story into wider public awareness.

www.irenasendler.org

I hope you are inspired by this story as I was. When you get to the part where she is nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007 keep in mind the Nobel Committee found Al Gore more worthy of its attention.  

One Response to The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy: Irena Sendlerowa

  1. Maria Bruks says:

    I have been aware of this heroic Polish woman for some time now, at least since her story became public last year. I do have a problem, today I received an e-mail — subject “Amazing Story” in which there is a statement that made me quite angry, it says “she knew of the Germen’s plans for the Jews (being German)”, where did that come from, her being German? Irena Sendler was Polish.
    How can this statement be corrected, this e-mail is being circulated all over with that incorrect information.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

