The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy: Everything Old is New Again

I watched the Obama speech last night just in case he said something from the heart and really tried to reach across the aisle.  I like Obama.  No, really I do. As a friend of mine in New York says, “What’s not to like?”  In the words of his Vice Presidential candidate he is, “…articulate and bright and clean and a nice looking guy.”  He is also a great performer. He’s a lot like comedian Carlos Mencia, another great performer. Every time I watch him I wonder how much of what he is saying is really original. So much of Obama’s stuff is just rehashed liberalism from the 70’s and 80’s. I know my enlightened friends don’t agree so let’s play a game. I will list a few quotes and you see if you can say whether the speaker was Obama, Dukakis or McGovern.  Come on, if Obama’s speech was so memorable you should be able to pick out his quotes.  No “google-ing” allowed.

1)     “…the people are going to insure that the tax system is changed…so that those who derive the highest benefit will pay their fair share.”

2)    …”America must be restored to a proper role in the world. But we can do that only through the recovery of confidence in ourselves.”

3)    …”This is also the time to turn away from excessive preoccupation overseas to the rebuilding of our own nation.”

4)    “…I know, because I am a product of that dream.”

5)    …”A dream so powerful that no distance of ground, no expanse of ocean, no barrier of language, no distinction of race or creed or color can weaken its hold on the human heart.”

I could go on but here’s my point, all of these could be Obama but none of them are. As I listened to him speak to the congregation last night I had to agree with him on some points, I love my mom, wife and kids too!  I too am for clean water and safe toys. I’m all for schools and roads, and scientific and technological advancement. I too believe that we have, “… the freedom to make of our own lives what we will…”  I also think that most conservatives believe, “we also have the obligation to treat each other with dignity and respect.”   Can we at least agree that there are annoying self absorbed morons on both sides of the political debate?  I don’t think Terry McAuliffe and James Carville run around hugging the homeless. 

Obama asked if there were things we could agree on and like clean air and schools. We agree on lots of things, it’s the “how” where we have the problem. Sure we want to reduce unwanted pregnancies; I want schools to teach abstinence you want them to hand out condoms.  We all hate crime but you think gang members use AK-47’s, I know that that weapon is too large to be concealed and is rarely used in violent crimes.  I don’t know what it’s like in Chicago but here in rural fly over country gay people aren’t stopped from visiting friends or loved ones in the hospital. Can you name a hospital where they are? We agree that illegal immigrants are killing the middle class worker but you want to put them on welfare and I want to put them on a bus.  We agree that there should be equal pay for equal work but pay discrimination is already illegal. Can you name a company that does this, if so please report them to the Department of Justice instead of reporting citizens who are exercising their right to free speech?

There were things I didn’t understand like, “a plan that would privatize Social Security and gamble your retirement?”  Since when is investing in the stock market “gambling”. I have all of my own retirement money in the market and commercial bonds and it’s a lot more than I will ever get from Social Security and it is growing. Right now, even when, “our economy is in turmoil,” my retirement account has a lot more in it than I originally invested.

Then there are the things that you just have wrong.  Many people do not put their country first, Mr. Obama.  Just ask your friend Bill Ayers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

