The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy: Brett Favre, the NYT, and T. Boone

August 4, 2008

 

I was going to write this whole thing about how Barack Obama was going to solve the Brett Favre problem, beat Condi Rice and Rush to the NFL Commissioner job and drop out of the presidential race. Unfortunately all I got out of that idea was the preceding sentence so I had to come with something else. I was at the airport and I picked up a copy of the Sunday New York Times to try to get some ideas. Please, for the love of God, don’t let any of my radical right wing pals know I am saying this but I read the New York Times.

Not every day, but I like to pick it up when I am traveling. There are a lot of things to like about the Times. I may be the only person in the world who likes the way the ink still comes off on my hands especially when I am getting steamed reading Maureen Dowd. I like the crossword puzzles. Maybe the thing I like the most is that it’s not USA Today, a newspaper which gives new meaning to the phrase “lowering our standards”.

Of course the paper has a very liberal bias, a liberal bias that starts on page one and goes right through the review of books. For fun I counted the number of references to Obama in the headlines of one section and compared it to the number of times McCain’s name was in the headlines. The final tally was Obama four, McCain one. Even the ads have a liberal bias but you know that when you plunk down your buck fifty. Being unhappy with the bias of The New York Times is like being shocked at the graphic nature of Hustler Magazine.  

As I thumbed through the pages of The Old Grey Lady I found a short interview with T. Boone Pickens. He has been spending millions of dollars on a TV ad campaign to promote his huge investment is wind power. This whole “I don’t care about making money I just want to make energy” scam is why he is in the news these days. He even went up to Capitol Hill to try to get the ball rolling to try to pry loose a few government dollars to back his “plan”. He is running around claiming to have a plan to solve our energy dependence problem but I haven’t seen the whole plan yet. I am all for alternative energy sources but the problem with wind is that it doesn’t always blow. Just like electric cars, which I would buy in a minute if I could drive a little farther and a little faster than I can in a golf cart, the problem is storage.

But I am getting away from my point. I don’t care how T. Boone Pickens spends his money, I am a laissez-faire capitalist. Hey, if you can hoodwink the government into another bad alterative energy decision good for you. Maybe you could form a club with the corn farmers of America who are enjoying the fruits of the law unintended consequences.

The interview was edited to nineteen questions. None of the questions asked him for information about the plan. Several were about how wind turbines don’t look good and might kill birds. One was actually about his many marriages. There were four questions about his giving money to the Swift Boat Veterans. I was wondering if The New York Times did an interview with George Soros would they grill him about his political donations. Does anyone else see the irony in the fact that the leading progressive political action committee is called “Move On” and yet progressives love to keep bringing up things that happened during the past two presidential elections?  

