The Vast Right Wing Conspiracy; Barack Does Berlin

When Barack Obama was in Europe last week the enlightened progressives of the United States got a rare opportunity to indulge two of their compulsive behaviors at the same time; Europhoria and Obamamania. Fortunately for me I was in Alaska enjoying myself hunting, fishing and looking at glaciers that were supposed to be gone by now according to some. They were still there and seemed to be just as large as they were the last time I was there four years ago but that is just anecdotal information.

Most enlightened progressives suffer from these two insidious diseases. You can check my blog from June 21, 2008 if you want more information on these ailments.

I saw some of the video of Barack in Berlin. The size of the rally was impressive but then the Germans have always been suckers for a free beer and a good speaker. Barack is an awesome speaker. He says some really scary things but he says them so well that I think they just go by some people don’t realize what has been said. I went and read the lyrics the song he sang in Berlin. As a public service to my friends on the left who are in love with the melody but don’t hear the words I thought I might break down a few lines from the speech.

“I know that I don’t look like the Americans who’ve previously spoken in this great city.”

Here is the guy who is supposed to be the post-racial candidate and yet at every opportunity he brings up race. It’s getting close to the John Kerry reminding us he was in Viet Nam rate.

“Look at Berlin, where Germans and Americans learned to work together and trust each other less than three years after facing each other on the field of battle.”

We didn’t learn to work together, we kicked their ass! We bombed and beat them into submission and then we fed and clothed them when the Russians tried to starve them and chase us out of town.

“As we speak, cars in Boston and factories in Beijing are melting the ice caps in the Arctic, shrinking coastlines in the Atlantic, and bringing drought to farms from Kansas to Kenya.”

As I said above there seemed to be plenty of ice in Alaska and it was the middle of July. Anchorage is having its coolest summer in twenty years. The Southern ice cap is as large as it has ever been since records were kept. I know he said “Arctic” but I would hope he isn’t going to be that Clintonian. I think he meant to imply the ice caps are shrinking. I would like Mr. Obama or Mr. Gore to show me exactly where on the Atlantic the coastline is shrinking. I was in Miami recently and Key Biscayne was still there and it is only a few inches above sea level. While I haven’t been to Kenya in awhile the farmers from Kansas to Ohio are having a bumper crop year while corn prices are at an all time high thanks to the brilliant government plan to make food into fuel. Meanwhile the farmers in Iowa have crops that are under a few feet of drought.

While we are on this whole global warming thing can any of you tell me what the optimum temperature for the human race or for the planet might be?  I didn’t think so.

“This is the moment when we must renew the goal of a world without nuclear weapons.”

 Who isn’t for a world without nuclear weapons? It’s probably the same folks who are against clean air and water. I would like to know what Barack is going to do about Iran. Let me tell you how many nukes Barack is going to get rid of if he is elected; zero.  

“This is the moment when we must build on the wealth that open markets have created, and share its benefits more equitably.  Trade has been a cornerstone of our growth and global development.  But we will not be able to sustain this growth if it favors the few, and not the many.” 

“From each according to their ability, to each according to their need” and Workers of all lands unite”, sound familiar?

 

Leave a Reply

